3 Comments

5 Things you didn’t know you could do on Pinterest.

Another “Five things” post – I know, but, I find them really helpful, I’m hoping to add some insightful information and really hoping at least one of these is new for you! :)

1. You can mention people as you would on Twitter , Facebook, or Instagram. 

This is actually quite a nifty feature! As far as I can tell, you have to follow the person first, but afterwords you can mention them in posts.  This is extraordinarily helpful for our team pinterest account - If you’re pinning a member or the team is pinning you, it’s great to have something so central to all we do. I also love how easy it is to use! All you have to do is start typing a name and a box pops up, click the name you want and it’s done.

2. Hashtags!

This is a very interesting feature, it’s one we’re so familiar with on other websites (again, like mentions) – but it’s not as commonly known about on Pinterest. I think this can be a very powerful tool, I’ve just yet to discover how to properly apply it to take it for all it’s worth.

3. Security.

Are you an artist? Designer? Photographer? Have you encountered someone who hasn’t read my last post on pinterest etiquette? Is someone stealing credit for your work? Before you write your cleverly written comment that can get your shop bad P.R. (Yes, there  is such a thing), use this simple form. Pinterest protects it’s artists!  You can find it (AND BOOKMARK IT!) here.

4. FIND YO FANS!

Sorry for the bad hipster impression (I’m not certain what that was)… But, P.R. is a major part of pinterest, scratch that, business as a whole. Sometimes it’s nice to know who likes you (And, whose pinning you negatively!). Since not everybody knows about mentions, and, since not all posts are positive they wont use mentions, it can be intimidating trying to hold up a good image on pinterest. Not with this simple and little known tool! Just go to http://pinterest.com/source/yourdomain.com (And of course changing “yourdomain.com” with well… your domain). Some people have problems using this, but it works great for me and has really helped build a positive image.

5. Add a price banner.

Because of how strictly visual Pinterest is – sometimes it can be hard to catch a potential buyers attention through the description. Say these awesome earrings, if I’m going through the people I follows boards and see them I might think “I love the color… ” and keep going. If I see the $20 I might think “OH MY GOODNESS! RIGHT IN MY PRICE RANGE AND THEY’RE AWESOME! CLICK CLICK”. It’s very effective, the only thing is it can be sometimes obstructive of the image.

Announcement:

Going to start writing another blog post on Wednesday – but this blog post wont be about enriching your pinterest, I will feature:

1. A pinterest account

2. An Etsy Shop

And any thing else I might think about.

NOTE: All images above came from the awesome people at Pinmeteam. If you don’t want your image used, let me know and I’ll take it down immediately.

Next weeks topic: How to drive your business using pinterest.

Furthermore: I’m playing around with the theme – so things are changing a bit ;). We’ll get settled soon enough!

About DeweysNook

I'm Victoria, leader of the Pin Me team, which is a cooperative / co op Etsy team - http://www.etsy.com/teams/11864/pin-me I'm also the designer/manager/owner at Dewey's Nook, which sells keepsakes inspired by the old world and many unique items. deweysnook.etsy.com I further own/manage Clover's Books, a currently under construction antiquarian book shop on etsy, selling affordable books, many over 100 years old. cloversbooks.etsy.com My avatar is Dewey Dunkin, the namesake of Dewey's Nook. Photo taken by me :)

3 comments on “5 Things you didn’t know you could do on Pinterest.

  1. I found this very helpful. Thanks!

  2. I couldn’t figure out the find your fans part…. it sent me to an “oops” page.

    • Hi Erin!

      Glad you liked the blog post :)

      It seems as though they changed it, now all items from etsy are linked from etsy.com, instead of your individual shop.

      Now this is only helpful for separate websites.

      Thank’s for the tip!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

