37 Comments

A Guide to College Resources on Pinterest

Gates to Rutgers University
My Alma Mater

If your family is like mine, you have attended several graduation parties this month. With a teenage child who is a sophomore in high school, we will be looking at colleges before I can say “second mortgage”, so I thought I would test out Pinterest as a college planning resource. I have found that when I perform a search on Pinterest, not only do I almost always find what I am looking for, but the results are richer than on regular search engines. Because the information has already been pinned, the researcher finds information that has already been vetted and “recommended” to others. For example, when I search by the word “college” in a popular search engine, I get the usual college-preparation guides, college guides and financing information as well as information on some individual colleges (Harvard appears on the first page). But I don’t get results that include information on the best schools for home schooled children, the top black colleges, a guide to online universities or a guide to colleges for students with disabilities. These pins are based on individual circumstances and preferences but can still be found in a general search on Pinterest.

I found my pins on boards named “College & Careers”, “College Info.”, “College Tips”, “Favorite Colleges” and “Colleges” among others. As I did in my last post, I have classified these pins into categories:

College guides — these pins lead to hardcover guides for sale or to online guides. A pin of the Princeton Review 2012 Book of Colleges leads to ebooknetworking.net where the book can be purchased online. A pin of Online Universities and Colleges leads to a website with information on attending an online college and how to make an informed decision about whether this option is the right one for that student. Pinterest contains a wealth of information about this fast-growing continuing education option. A pin for the Best Colleges Online.com leads the pinner to an online college finder. “In 3 easy steps you can find the perfect college.” Another pin leads to an article on Prestigious colleges with the lowest tuition.

Pin of College Guide

College rankings these pins provide the pinner withinformation regarding the ratings of various types of colleges. A pin called 2012 Top Colleges leads to an article in the Huffington Post entitled U.S. News College Rankings 2012: The Top National Universities. Princeton and Harvard were tied, by the way, for the #1 spot. An ezine article gives the pinner information on accreditation. “Students studying in the U.S. can be reassured of the quality of education they receive through a process called, ‘accreditation’. Accreditation is one of the most important factors to consider while deciding on which college to attend, be it online or on-ground.”

Pin of College Prep Guide

College Preparation There are hundreds of pins to SAT and ACT preparation guides as well as guides and websites that provide information for students on step-by-step planning throughout high school. The College Preparation Checklist found on the Federal Student Aid website is one of the most popular resources for students and parents. Knowhow2go.org has tips and information on preparing for college from the types of classes to take in high school to finding financial aid. A pin of Quintessential Careers gives the pinner a month-by-month College-Bound High School Senior Planning Calendar and Collegechecklist.com is a complete guide of what to bring to college.

Financing Options college financing can be a daunting task. Pinterest provides a wealth of information about scholarships and financing a college education. The Federal Student Aid website is the first resource a prospective college student should visit. From this site many other resources can be found. Finding scholarships is made infinitely easier with resources like the Scholarships.com and Scholarshiphunter.com where the

Pin of Financial Aid Website

visitor can complete a profile and receive a list of scholarships for which to apply. A must read for any prospective student is Debt-Free U: How I Paid for an Outstanding College Education Without Loans, Scholarships, or Mooching off My Parents.

College merchandise — No college guide would be complete without information on where to purchase

Rutgers U. scarf found in     Etsy Shop

college merchandise. And who better to look to for college gear than my fellow Etsyans. From hand-painted Toms sneakers to hand-made pillows and lamp shades to scarves and wall-hangings, Etsy definitely came through when I created my “College Store” pin board. http://pinterest.com/silkflorals/college-store/. Also available on this pin board is a link to a discounted college textbook site.

Oklahoma State wall hanging found in Etsy shop

What I love most about finding information on Pinterest is that I can pin anything the moment I find it and organize my pins into topic areas immediately or later (so as not to slow my momentum) I can add, delete and move items easily. This allows me to organize important events in my life and my family members’ lives making them more manageable AND more fun! Happy searching!

Hand-painted University of Houston Toms sneakers found in Etsy shop

http://pinterest.com/silkflorals/college-resources/

Yours in Pinning,

Candice

Convo me here

About Candice

Candice is the owner of Duchess Florals, a silk and fresh floral design studio in North Brunswick New Jersey, She studied floral design at The FlowerSchool NY and received her Professional Floral Design certification in 2014. Candice lives in North Brunswick, NJ with her husband and teenage daughter.

37 comments on “A Guide to College Resources on Pinterest

  1. […] Continue Reading: The Pin Me Guide to College Resources « Pinme Blog […]

  2. Haha, ” we will be looking at colleges before I can say “second mortgage””, that put a smile on my face.

    I wish they had Pinterest (or I knew about pinterest) when I was in college. It would be fun for me and the other orch dorks to argue over which period of music was the best through pictures and video links. That as an entire application I’ve never even thought about :).

    As always, thanks!

  3. Excellent..! I never thought of pinning as such a practical tool for research like that..
    Great article!

  4. You’ve got some great tips in here, especially the “Sally” one. Thank you for sharing.

  5. Everything is very open with a very clear explanation of the
    challenges. It was really informative. Your site is extremely helpful.
    Thanks for sharing!

  6. I think this is one of the most significant information for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on some general things, The web site style is wonderful, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

  7. Super-Duper blog! I am loving it!! Will come back again. I am bookmarking your feeds also

  8. Excellent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too magnificent. I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it smart. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a terrific web site.

  9. I want to show some thanks to this writer for rescuing me from this type of issue. Just after checking through the internet and seeing things which are not productive, I assumed my entire life was done. Being alive without the strategies to the difficulties you’ve fixed all through your website is a serious case, as well as those which could have negatively affected my career if I had not come across your blog post. Your actual talents and kindness in touching all the pieces was important. I am not sure what I would have done if I had not come across such a subject like this. I can also at this point look ahead to my future. Thank you very much for the skilled and results-oriented guide. I won’t hesitate to refer your blog to any individual who needs and wants recommendations on this topic.

  10. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  11. I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

  12. Keep functioning ,splendid job!

  13. I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for wonderful information I was looking for this info for my mission.

  14. As a Newbie, I am constantly searching online for articles that can help me. Thank you

  15. You completed various good points there. I did a search on the theme and found the majority of persons will agree with your blog.

  16. Wow! Thank you! I always needed to write on my blog something like that. Can I include a fragment of your post to my website?

  17. I wanted to put you one tiny remark in order to give thanks once again about the great basics you’ve featured in this case. It has been really particularly generous of people like you to convey openly all that a number of us might have made available for an e-book to get some dough for themselves, certainly considering that you might have tried it if you decided. The suggestions in addition served as a great way to be sure that other people online have similar passion just as my own to know the truth way more on the subject of this condition. I think there are numerous more enjoyable sessions in the future for people who take a look at your website.

  18. You are a very intelligent person!

  19. I am always looking online for articles that can benefit me. Thanks!

  20. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  21. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  22. Awsome site! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am taking your feeds also

  23. Definitely, what a splendid site and instructive posts, I definitely will bookmark your website.All the Best!

  24. My spouse and i have been absolutely peaceful when Raymond managed to finish up his studies out of the ideas he gained when using the web pages. It’s not at all simplistic to just find yourself giving freely procedures that a number of people have been selling. And now we acknowledge we’ve got the writer to be grateful to because of that. The specific explanations you have made, the straightforward blog navigation, the relationships you will help foster – it is most exceptional, and it is aiding our son and the family feel that the issue is fun, and that is tremendously essential. Many thanks for the whole lot!

  25. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my weblog thus i came to “return the favor”.I’m attempting to find things to improve my web site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  26. I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for fantastic info I was looking for this information for my mission.

  27. Thank you so much for the kind words! I’m glad you liked the post.

  28. I am so glad that the blog was helpful to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

