1 Comment

Pinterest: Connecting Generations

Classic Audrey Hepburn photo

For this week’s Monday blog post, I thought I would choose a famous person and search their name to see what came up on Pinterest. Who better than Audrey Hepburn, style icon of the 50s and 60s, to research on Pinterest? When I searched by keyword “Audrey”, Pinterest came up with so many pins that I could not even get through them all! No sooner had I started to create my “Audrey” board (http://pinterest.com/silkflorals/audrey/)

My Audrey Pinboard

when my phone started pinging with notices of repins…from the iconic photo from Breakfast at Tiffany’s which was pinned hundreds of times and repinned thousands (just in the pins I reviewed), to quotes and movie scene photos, Audrey remains a larger-than-life icon. This is no more apparent than in a quote attributed to Audrey and repinned thousands of times. To be honest, I did not even know that any quotes had been attributed to Audrey Hepburn until I found them on Pinterest!

For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others; for beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness; and for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone

Audrey Hepburn

Audrey Hepburn quote repinned thousands of times

Audrey images have been repined to boards called “My Style”, “Makes Me Happy”, “About Audrey”, “Vintage Style”, “Vintage Chic”, “Fashion and Style”, “Wedding Planning” and hundreds of others. Comments include: “Inspiration”, “I want to be like her when I grow up”, “One of a kind” and “Classic Beauty”. Most of the comments I found were from twenty and thirty-somethings!

Audrey Tiffany-Style Fashion

It is clear that Audrey’s style spans generations. Although she died in 1993, she inspires prom dresses, hairstyles, accessories, makeup and even bedroom designs. These are regularly pinned to teen, twenty and thirty-something boards as inspiration, things they aspire to and great style. One interesting pin indicative of Audrey’s influence on American style is an “Audrey Hepburn-Style Shopping List”….a “checklist” for must-have clothing, outerwear and accessories.

Audrey inspired pearls for sale in an Etsy shop!

Audrey inspired bedroom design

Even Etsy shops have gotten in on the Audrey craze! But the pinnacle of my research on our fascination with Audrey was a video pin I found demonstrating how to achieve the Audrey eyebrow of the 50s and the very different eyebrow of the 60s. The demonstrator was even dressed, accessorized and made up to look like Audrey. Now that’s devotion! My research has led me to conclude that we know more about Audrey now than we ever did in the 1960s. Even those who were adults during the Audrey era didn’t know as much about Audrey as we do now! Because we have unlimited access to information through electronic media, our image of Audrey is more complete. Pinterest, gives us a

I want to be just like Audrey!

visual portrait of Audrey that no other social media can.  There are thousands of images available all in one place and with Pinterest, you can “collect” just the images you like. There is nowhere else you can do this. Pinterest has brought an icon of the 50s and 60s to multiple generations and will keep her style and talent alive for many more to come.

Yours in Pinning,

Candice

Convo me here

About Candice

Candice is the owner of Duchess Florals, a silk and fresh floral design studio in North Brunswick New Jersey, She studied floral design at The FlowerSchool NY and received her Professional Floral Design certification in 2014. Candice lives in North Brunswick, NJ with her husband and teenage daughter.

One comment on “Pinterest: Connecting Generations

  1. Hello there, You have done an excellent job. I will certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I’m sure they will be benefited from this website.

Leave a Reply

