6 Comments

Etsy’s About Page

This week we’re taking a break from pinterest, because while this blog is pinterestcentric, the goal of pinterest is to grow your business, so occasionally if I find another bit of powerful information that I believe will help your shop, I might switch. Plus it keeps things interesting ;). We’ll go back to regular pinterest programming next week.

I’m going to start as to why it’s so important, because I’ve seen plenty of shops say “Well, I want their eyes on my shop, not my about page”…  along with some information as to why I think it’s so helpful.

I think you’re silly not to open up an about page, specifically under the rationale of ” I don’t want eyes elsewhere”, if you’re reading this, you probably have some interest in pinterest. What does Pinterest do? Technically link potential buyers to hundreds (or, thousands depending on how often you pin) of other shops. But, because of your presence as a curator and a shop owner, people are viable to go to your shop.

The reason why I’m such a large advocate for this, is mainly because I think this is the (simple) solution to Etsy’s biggest problem. Resellers. They can’t take pictures of the little children in sweatshops, so they’ll probably leave it blank or fake some pics. What I love about this, is it puts the common sense in your hands, not Etsy. Before we relied on Etsy to remove resellers, and while they did do a good enough job, even I got lulled into the trap of the non handmade. Now, we have the power of common sense.  We can decide, and I think that’s powerful. Furthermore, I foresee many more large sales down the road, someone is much more comfortable handing over large amounts of money when they know who you are.

That brings us to actually creating one.  I’ve noticed a lot of questions on “What should I put!” and such.

Start with, well, what it’s for. Think about some of these:

  • What inspires your work, is there a feel your trying to capture? A certain memory you try to recreate with any of your pieces?
  • What made you want to create your shop? Try not to sound greedy in your honesty, not that I’m saying lie, but don’t say “I just wanted more money!”. Why did you want more money? Was there a dream you wanted to fulfill? For me, it was to get to Rhode Island,  a dream come true!
  • What is unique about your shop?  Is there anything that only your hands can make, that can’t be found elsewhere?

Edit. It’s your friend. I just put mine up last night and I already want to change most of the pictures and some of my story. That’s COMPLETELY okay! Edit it as much as you want.

Don’t worry about using the word “I” or “Me” to often. This is YOUR about page, and your time to shine. Don’t make it about anyone else unless they inspired YOU.

I hope you guys are enjoying this new feature Etsy has put out for us! Any questions, let me know in the comments.

(And remember, you can set up your etsy shop page by clicking Your Shop, then Info and Appearance, and then clicking the “About” tab)

About DeweysNook

I'm Victoria, leader of the Pin Me team, which is a cooperative / co op Etsy team - http://www.etsy.com/teams/11864/pin-me I'm also the designer/manager/owner at Dewey's Nook, which sells keepsakes inspired by the old world and many unique items. deweysnook.etsy.com I further own/manage Clover's Books, a currently under construction antiquarian book shop on etsy, selling affordable books, many over 100 years old. cloversbooks.etsy.com My avatar is Dewey Dunkin, the namesake of Dewey's Nook. Photo taken by me :)

6 comments on “Etsy’s About Page

  1. Hello!
    I am new to Etsy well about a month…so yeah I had posted in a thread to have my shop critiqued the person told me that I needed to change my product! I was really insulted but then I went to their public about page(the initial one) and it was obvious that their items where not handmade.

    I just started to fill out my information on the new about page.
    What do you do when you know someone(s) are re-sellers?

    CHEERS! Team Pinme member Summer Crew

    • Summer, Resellers are a /HUGE/ issue in Etsy. It’s one of the big problems with Etsy, and just a few weeks ago there was a scandal on it (Etsygate), some people left and a lot of people got muted/banned because of what they said. What caused all this chaos was that Etsy featured a reseller (Ecologica Malibu), Who just recently left etsy on her own accord, but was never removed. The fact is, Etsy seems to do a good job protecting their resellers, even though their technically against the rules. Reslellers make more sales therefor generate more money for Etsy than handmade shops. At any rate, you can report non handmade shops to etsy by scrolling down to the bottom of an item page and clicking “Report this item to etsy”, Ive done it before and sometimes it actually works. Only report items once, otherwise it slows it up. If your so inclined, try to provide links/proof that they aren’t. Don’t let this deter you! It’s just something you’re going to have to realize. Just by going about your blog I can tell your an amazingly talented artist, don’t let other people get you down. Good luck Summer!

  2. Thanks Victoria! Great post…

  3. Definitely, what a great blog and revealing posts, I will bookmark your site.Best Regards!

  4. Hi there! This article couldn’t be written much better! Looking at this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept talking about this. I’ll send this article to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

